This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Resident, Fellow, and Junior Faculty Committee

One of the core missions of APSA is to advocate for the entire spectrum of physician scientist training. Transitioning through the resident, fellow, and junior faculty career stages are the leakiest part of the physician scientist pipeline.

This group is faced with unique challenges such as pressures for clinical productivity, starting a lab/research portfolio in a challenging funding environment, competition with full time PhD scientists, and difficulties negotiating protected research time in part due to mal-aligned economic incentives from the clinical world.

This committee was created as a supportive community for physician-scientists at these stages of training and to help address obstacles they may be facing.

Jennifer M. Kwan, MD, PhD
APSA Board of Directors
Yale School of Medicine

Erin Wiedmeier, MD, MPH
APSA Resident/Fellow/Jr. Faculty Committee Co-Chair
Mayo Clinic