Institutional Representatives
Share |

Institutional Representatives

Institutional Representatives serve as the crucial link between APSA and the physician-scientist student population. If you are interested in getting involved, apply to be an Institutional Representative. Applications are accepted year round.

The Institutional Representative:

  • Serves as a liaison between APSA and the physician-scientist student population at the represented institution. This includes but is not limited to announcements of APSA events and projects, gathering feedback with regard to APSA directives, as well as providing a voice for their students within APSA.
  • Is strongly encouraged to attend the Annual APSA Meeting in order to represent their institutions during the APSA Business Meeting
  • Is strongly encouraged to be an active member of APSA by serving on one of APSA's four standing committees (Annual Meeting, Finance, Policy, and Public Relations). These standing committees not only rely on the APSA Institutional Representatives and other APSA Members to achieve their goals but also heavily rely upon them for continuous feedback and advice to guide the individual committee's path and future.
  • Gains the opportunity to serve on the APSA Executive Council. Once an APSA Member has served in an Institutional Representative position, he/she becomes eligible to run for any of the positions on the Executive Council including President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer (Finance Committee Chair, Annual Meeting Committee Chair, Policy Committee Chair, Public Relations Committee Chair, Member-At-Large (to represent the MD-PhD voice), Member-At-Large (to represent the MD-only voice), and Member-At-Large (to represent the social sciences / humanities).
  • Strives to exemplify the goals and missions of APSA on the local level at their home institution.

Do you know who your representative is? You can search for your representative or consult the list below.

Albert Einstein/Yeshiva UniversityKim Ahaegbulam
Brown UniversityJeffrey Hofmann
University of Buffalo Lauren Burkard 
Columbia UniversityDavid Kazadi
Dartmouth CollegeDamion Almiron, Christian Rees, David Qian
Drexel UniversityLiz Crowe
Johns Hopkins UniversityAnnie Hsieh
Mount Sinai School of MedicineRajal Sharma
New York Medical CollegeJoseph Zullo
Penn State UniversitySaumya Maru
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School Adam Korayem 
SUNY DownstateArjun Kumar
SUNY Stony BrookRobert Wysocki
SUNY UpstateKaren Howard
Temple UniversityIsha Srivastava 
University of ConnecticutAlexander Adami
University of PennsylvaniaEric Lee
University of PittsburghMatthew Hedberg
University of RochesterAndrew Shubin
Yale UniversitySamir Zaidi
Emory UniversityKeon-young Park
Louisiana State University New OrleansFelix Nau
Georgia Regents UniversityTrevor Hardigan and Kevin Lindsay
Medical University of South CarolinaRussell Glenn
Tulane University Meghan Althoff 
University of Alabama at BirminghamAlice Weaver
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Trey Lowery
University of Central FloridaGalal Elsayed
University of FloridaStephen Chrzanowski
University of KentuckyEseosa Ighodaro
University of MississippiBernadette DeRussy
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill Audrey Verde and James Byrne
Vanderbilt UniversityMichael Litt
West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine Zach Klinger 
West Virginia University Brandon Lucke-Wold 
Case Western Reserve Medical School Pamela Marcott
Chicago Medical School/Rosalind FranklinOlsi Giyshi
Indiana University/Purdue UniversityAlex Ocana
Loyola University ChicagoTimothy Spear
Mayo Graduate SchoolSaranya Wyles and Allyson Palmer
Michigan State University College of Osteopathic MedicineElaine Sinclair
Michigan State University MD/PhD ProgramLuke Fischer
Northeast Ohio Medical UniversityAlvin Das and Daniel DelloStritto
Northwestern UniversityFrank Barrows
The Ohio State UniversityJillian Liu
Saint Louis UniversityAnit Bereha
University of ChicagoDaniel Camacho
University of CincinnatiJeeyeon Cha
University of Illinois-ChicagoMichael Fettiplace
University of Illinois Urbana-ChampaignAdrienne Barry
University of IowaJung Min Park
University of KansasDanny Miller
University of MichiganWarren Pan
University of MinnesotaMat Angelos
University of NebraskaPhillip Purnell
University of WisconsinSumit Kar
Washington University in St. Louis Michelle Robinette
Baylor College of MedicineTiffany Hsu
Texas A&MLiam Guthrie
Texas TechArjun Sehgal
University of North TexasAnn Nguyen
University of Texas HSC - HoustonVida Chitsazzadeh and Thuy Le
University of Texas - GalvestonHikma Jemal
University of Texas - Southwestern Joshua Owen
Oklahoma State University Vadim Yeroukhim 
Oregon Health and Science UniversityJaime Zelaya
University of California San DiegoDawn Zhang
University of NevadaMilad Motarjemi
University of Southern California/Cal TechJason Lou
University of UtahBrad Weaver
University of WashingtonMichael Duyzend