Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search

9/9/2014 » 9/12/2014
2014 AHA High Blood Pressure Meeting

Calendar more


Save the Dates: APSA Regional Meetings

Posted by the Events Committee on 3 August, 2014

APSA’s Regional Meetings are on the horizon! Check out the list of Regional Meetings for the location nearest you. Of particular note is the Southeastern Regional Meeting/Southeast Medical Scientist Symposium (SEMSS), fast approaching at the end of this month! Visit the SEMSS website for more information.

  • Southeast: Emory, 23-24 August 2014
  • Northeast: Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, 1 November 2014
  • South: UTHSC-Houston, 1 November 2014
  • Midwest: Case Western Reserve, 15 November 2014
  • West: University of Southern California, 15 November 2014

APSA is particularly excited to announce the revival of the APSA West Regional Meeting, the first in several years. We hope to see many of you at the 2014 Regional Meetings!

Introducing: APSA Media

Posted by the Technology Committee on 3 August, 2014

APSA is excited to announce the launch of a new feature on the website, the Media section! Photos, videos, and audio recordings of APSA events will be archived there. Much content is available for anyone, while APSA members receive exclusive access to resources like the recordings of the Interactive Sessions with Francis Collins and Robin Lorenz. Check out the Media section today, found under the Resources menu item.

APSA's Next Interactive Session with Robin Lorenz, MD, PhD

Posted by the Membership Committee on 18 July, 2014

APSA is excited to announce the next interactive session featuring Robin Lorenz, MD, PhD, Director of the MSTP at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. An accomplished pathologist and immunologist, Dr. Lorenz is passionate about physician-scientist training. In addition to her role as MSTP Director, Dr. Lorenz serves as Assistant Dean of Physician-Scientist Education at UAB. Her session will be of particular interest to women interested in physician-scientist careers, undergraduates planning to apply to MD/PhD programs, and physician-scientist trainees of all stripes who seek to incorporate academic leadership in their careers.

Dr. Lorenz's interactive session will be held on Monday, July 28th, 2014, at 9 PM EDT. To joint, visit on your computer (a headset and microphone are recommended) or call +1 (646) 749-3122 and use access code 431-691-629. We look forward to seeing you there!

The 10th Annual Meeting: A Review

Posted by the Events Committee on 7 July, 2014

Did you miss the 10th Annual Meeting in April? Do you want to revisit some of the highlights of APSA’s best meeting yet? Check out the 10th AM Review, available now on APSA’s website! APSA has gone through thousands of photos, hours of video, and the contributions of several APSA leaders to record the highlights and memories of the meeting. APSA also encourages you to share your photos and memories on APSA’s Facebook and on Twitter (#APSA2014). Check out the photos on Facebook and tag yourselves and your friends!

Listen to the Interactive Session with Francis Collins

Posted by the Membership Committee on 7 July, 2014

APSA was pleased to host Francis Collins, MD, PhD, Director of the NIH, for an informal Q&A session on June 23rd, 2014. Dr. Collins answered questions submitted by APSA members and gave his perspectives on the exciting future of biomedical science and the role of physician-scientists in promoting it. If you missed the session or want to listen to it again, it is available online exclusively for APSA members. Look for more of APSA’s conversations with leading physician-scientists in the future!

Enter the 2014 Lasker Foundation Essay Contest

Posted by the Public Relations Committee on 27 June, 2014

APSA is excited to announce a special opportunity for all health professions students from one of APSA's partners, the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. The Lasker Foundation wants to know your innovative ideas for promoting and supporting funding for medical research. Submit your ideas to the Lasker Foundations' 2014 Essay Contest. Prizes of up to $10,000 and a chance to meet the 2014 Lasker Award winners will be awarded to the top submissions. For full details and submission instructions, please visit the 2014 Essay Contest website. Good luck!

APSA Interactive Session with Francis Collins, MD, PhD on June 23rd

Posted by the Public Relations Committee on 16 June, 2014

Our next APSA Interactive Session will be a special one. Francis Collins, MD, PhD, Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), has agreed to take part in our session on Monday, June 23, at 9 PM EDT. Please mark your calendars.

Dr. Collins has long been an active member and leader of the physician-scientist community. He previously served as Director of the Human Genome Project, and has served as the Director of the NIH since 2009. He has won numerous scientific and leadership awards for his work, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom and the National Medal of Science.

This session will be Q & A format - Dr. Collins will be taking a combination of pre-submitted questions and live questions, so we invite you to submit a question or two that you might have for him.

We look forward to receiving your question(s), and to having you join us on this session. Below is information on how you can join the call.

1. Visit

2. Use your microphone and speakers (VoIP) - a headset is recommended. Or, call in using your telephone.
United States: +1 (571) 317-3122
Access Code: 872-602-725

If you have any questions, please contact Peter Mittwede.

APSA Interactive Session June 9th with David Ginsburg, MD

Posted by the Public Relations Committee on 7 June, 2014

APSA is pleased to announce that we will be hosting an APSA Interactive Session with David Ginsburg, MD, a Professor at the Life Sciences Institute of the University of Michigan, this upcoming Monday, June 9, at 9 PM EDT.

Dr. Ginsburg is a prominent physician-scientist who has long been active in the field of blood clotting research and is also a certified hematologist/oncologist/clinical geneticist. He is a former President of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), an organization with which APSA partners each year for our annual meeting.

This session will be an open Q&A format, and Dr. Ginsburg is happy to take any of our questions related to all aspects of training or life as a physician-scientist. We encourage you to read up a bit about Dr. Ginsburg and his work. You can find that at his laboratory page.

Here is the information on how you can join the session:

1. Visit

2. Use your microphone and speakers (VoIP) - a headset is recommended. Or, call in using your telephone.
Dial +1 (267) 507-0011
Access Code: 747-157-421

If you have any questions, please contact Peter Mittwede.